Music for the Golden Vale round-up

So I’m back online after an amazing weekend in Tipperary (apart from the small matter of Tipperary losing the all-Ireland).

I’m still processing the weekend in my own way – by the time the performance started I was so invested in it’s outcome that I found it difficult to stand back from the performance an evaluate it critically. I had hoped to have someone do that evaluation for me but due to tighter and tighter budget I had to leave that out at the last minute. It really was wonderful though. There was a smaller audience than I had hoped but those who made it were absolutely attentive and seemed as invested as I was. The new commission by Ian Wilson, performed by the NCC and Iarla Ó Lionáird , under the baton of James Wood was beautiful and at the end of the evening, was very emotional for me personally.

A huge thank you to all involved. I need to take this space to say thanks in particular to my brother Donnachadh who spent the day ferrying me around, taking care of everything I need and to Niamh Ryan who ran my box office and was there the whole way through the development of the project as an objective point of view. Without the two of them I would have been absolutely lost in the production on the day.

The evening ended with a great Tipperary-style knees up in my Holycross local, with music played into the wee hours (and some Kerry slides danced in the lounge)!

About aisling

nursery textiles / curating people / building communities / vintage treasures :: belgium / ireland
This entry was posted in events, music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

