Happy New Year (yeah, yeah, I know…)

I was right in my prediction that I wouldn’t get to another blog post before the new year. In fact, I’m only just getting to it now. So many things have happened in the last little while that I’m struggling to remember all of them. Here are a few short notes:

In the coming months I’m hoping to start contributing to new online cultural journal Vulgo. It’s run by two extremely experienced and competent friends and I can see if getting increasingly popular as more people get familiar with it. I’m going to be looking at new music features. (By the way, I adore the pic of green-eyed Laurie Anderson on the homepage this week!)

I’ve been invited to attend Iceland’s Dark Music Days next weekend in Iceland. It was a last minute invitation and I’m verrrry excited! I’ve never been to Iceland before and have heard so many good things about it. What I’ve noticed is that the only people who I know that have been to Iceland before are all artists and musicians. I think that bodes really well for both my visit and for Ireland/Iceland connections! Any suggestions for my trip are welcome!

I have never had any reason before to use bandcamp but just got a link sent to me by collective that I think performs under Matt Longo but I’m not 100% sure if that’s the name of the collective or the main singer. In any case, I really like the group and the description I was sent of their sound – “woozy, orchestrated music” – is perfect! I’m way to exhausted now to give any sort of articulate review but definitely check them out if you get a chance.

I’m doing my damnedest to keep an eye on my grammar, but I write these posts at the very end of the day, when I’ve finished all of the things I get paid (or I’m paying in the case of my Masters) to do. So please excuse me (Mum!) if I occasionally forget to dot my “t”‘s and cross my eyes…

About aisling

nursery textiles / curating people / building communities / vintage treasures :: belgium / ireland
This entry was posted in events, music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year (yeah, yeah, I know…)

  1. Kerry says:

    so — how did it go in Iceland?

  2. aislingcryan says:

    A pretty overwhelming trip, thanks Kerry! I wrote a little on it over on Vulgo (http://vulgo.ie/voices/aisling-ryans-dark-music-days-in-reykjavik-13/) and will put another post up here later this week.

Leave a Reply

